Guillotine

Eyes blurred, I stare,
Down a path they drag shoulders, my hair,
Tripping on stones that watch me from below,
Facing a fate condemned to my soul.

Faces on every side, throwing neglect,
Mixture of disappointment and lack of respect,
The sting of their spit stains my skin,
But the words penetrate my bones within.

Forced down, my face between a carved out place,
Sweat falls to the floor, my tears give chase,
But if the blade above is to set me free,
Let it come down and comfort me.

Leave a Reply

