Aftermath

My body broken down on this bed,
Sheets reflecting the force, colour of red,
Remembering the moment my innocence fled
The soft, fleshy body below my head.

But under the sky, above the ceiling,
I lay in my nest, a furnace, just feeling
The heat, the pressure of wanting and needing
A life far from reach of where my hands cling.

But while I stay here thinking of all this,
Reaching my goals, surpassing my limits,
Motionless, my body rests, motivation demolished,
Waiting for the blood of ambition to be replenished.

Leave a Reply

