Fissure

A quake splits the ground beneath us,
With force that lifts the earth’s dust,
Losing sight, I wish I could just
Tell you how I feel.
But deep beneath the dreaded lust
Floats a strand of tampered trust,
And there comes a time when we must
Acknowledge that this is what’s real.

You may try to get to this side,
Stretching your hands wishing you could fly
Into my arms, lay there and cry,
And tell me about your day.
Yet I don’t need that kind
Of attachment in my life,
Not right now, so I…
Will just look the other way.

Leave a Reply

