Wanting the Never Wanted

I’ve been here before,
Many times, and more,
So many times in fact,
It feels like another chore.

Hopefully, someday close,
Or before my final atonement,
I’ll attain the thing i want most,
And not what’s best at the moment.

Perhaps it is a curse on my name,
For while I wait on the one
That takes my breath away,
Another makes her claim.

As is the hand i stretch out,
Gets rejected by hers,
Only to fall into the hand
That belongs to another.

I know I will never get what I want,
No matter how hard I try,
And I’m not trying to be greedy,
I just want to be satisfied.

Leave a Reply

